April 28, 2019

The BCCI recommended cricketers Mohammad Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ravindra Jadeja and Poonam Yadav for the Arjuna award. Now, Ministry of Youth affairs will consider the recommendations.


  • National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports. One of them is Arjuna Award.

  • What are arjuna awards? The objective of the Awards is to recognize outstanding achievements of sportspersons in the field of sports at international level.

  • History: It was established in 1961. A total of 53 cricketers have been awarded the Arjuna Award with Saleem Durani, in 1961, the first recipient.

  • Given by: The Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India.

  • Cash prize: The Award consist of a statuette and a cash Award of Rs. 5 lakh.

  • Sports disciplines covered:
    • Olympic Games/Asian Games/Commonwealth Games/World Cup/Word Championship disciplines and cricket or any equivalent recognized international Tournament.

    • Indigenous Games.

    • Sports for physically challenged.

  • Eligibility for the Award:
    • A sportsperson should have had not only good performance over the previous four years at the International level, but should also have shown qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and a sense of discipline.

    • No Award will be made for a second time to the same person.

    • The Award may be given posthumously if such an occasion arises.

  • Number Of Arjuna Awards To Be Given In A Year:
    • Ordinarily not more than one award will be given in each discipline in a particular year. But this principle of one award per discipline may be relaxed in case of team sports and across gender.

    • At least one award is to be given exclusively for sports for physically challenged.

    • Normally not more than 15 awards could be given in any calendar year. However, keeping in view the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian and Olympic Games during a particular year, more than 15 Awards may be allowed.