Feb. 23, 2021

Pravas Kumar Singh took oath as Member of Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC).


  • The Central Electricity Regulatory Commission (CERC) had been established by the Government of India under the provisions of the Electricity Regulatory Commissions Act, 1998.

  • CERC is the Central Commission for the purposes of the Electricity Act, 2003 which has repealed the ERC Act, 1998.

  • The Commission consists of a Chairperson and four other Members including Chairperson, Central Electricity Authority who is the ex-officio Member of the Commission.

  • Major functions of CERC under the Act are
    • to regulate the tariff of generating companies owned or controlled by the Central Government,

    • to regulate the inter-State transmission of electricity and to determine tariff for such transmission of electricity, etc.

  • Under the Act, CERC shall also advise the Central Government on formulation of National Electricity Policy and Tariff Policy.

Source : Hindu