Oct. 28, 2018

Renowned music director Mohammed Zahur Khayyam Hashmi, better known as “Khayyam”, was conferred this year’s prestigious Hridaynath Award for Lifetime Achievement.

Hridaynath Award for Lifetime Achievement:

  • Background: The award was established in 2011 by Hridayesh Art, a Mumbai- based socio-cultural organisation.

  • Named after: The award is named after Hridaynath Mangeshkar, an India music director and the younger brother of Indian music legends Lata Mangeshkar and Asha Bhosle.

  • Cash prize: The award comprises a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh and a memento.

  • Objective: To recognize successful individuals from various fields across the country.

  • List of recipients:
    • 2011: Lata Mangeshkar

    • 2012: Asha Bhosle

    • 2013: Amitabh Bachchan

    • 2014: Hariprasad Chaurasia

    • 2015: AR Rahman

    • 2016: Vishwanathan Anand

    • 2017: Javed Akhtar

    • 2018: Khayyam


  • Mohammed Zahur "Khayyam" Hashmi, better known as Khayyam, is an Indian music director.

  • Awards Received: Sangeet Natak Akademi Award (2007); Padma Bhushan (2011).

Source : The Hindu