June 12, 2019

On June 12, 2019, former Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi will present the Jnanpith award for the year 2018 to the noted English writer Amitav Ghosh.

Bharatiya Jnanpith: 

  • It is a literary and research organization.

  • It was founded in 1944 by Sahu Shanti Prasad Jain of the Sahu Jain family (who owns the Times Group) with the objective of undertaking research & publication of Sanskrit, Prakrit, Pali and Apabhramsha texts.

  • It is based in Delhi.

Literary Awards presented it:

  • Moortidevi Award: Given annually for books written in all Indian languages besides English pertaining to Indian philosophy.

  • Navlekhan Award: Given annually to young authors in Hindi for their first creations.

  • Jnanpith Award:
    • Given annually to an author for their "outstanding contribution towards literature".

    • It is bestowed only on Indian writers writing in Indian languages included in the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution of India and English.

    • Instituted in: 1961.

    • There are no posthumous conferral. Also only works published during the preceding twenty years is considered for the award.

    • The award consists of cash prize is ₹11 lakh and a Bronze replica of Saraswati, the Hindu goddess of knowledge and wisdom.