March 24, 2022

Foreign Secretary Harsh Shringla spoke at a United Nations Security Council (UNSC) meeting on cooperation between the United Nations (UN) and the League of Arab States (LAS).


  • The Arab League, formally the League of Arab States, is a regional organization in the Arab world, which is located in Northern Africa, Western Africa, Eastern Africa, and Western Asia.

  • The Arab League was formed in Cairo on 22 March 1945 initially with six members: Egypt, Iraq, Transjordan (renamed Jordan in 1949), Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, and Syria.

  • Currently, the League has 22 members, but Syria's participation has been suspended since November 2011.

  • Administrative centre: Cairo, Egypt. 

Source : The Hindu