May 31, 2019

National Democratic Alliance leader Narendra Modi was sworn in as 15th Prime Minister for a second five-year term.


  • President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of Office and Secrecy to Narendra Modi and a team of 57 council of ministers at a ceremony.

  • Besides 24 Cabinet ministers including Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, and Piyush Goyal, nine were sworn in as Minister of State with Independent charge and another 24 as Minister of State.

  • One-third of the total ministers in the Cabinet are first-timers, including BJP president Amit Shah and former Foreign Secretary Subrahmanyam Jaishankar.

  • Portfolios for the new ministers have not been announced yet.

  • The function was attended by leaders from BIMSTEC countries and foreign envoys.