What is Nato Plus?

May 29, 2023

A US Congressional Committee recently recommended strengthening Nato Plus by including India in the five-member grouping.

About Nato Plus:

  • It is a grouping of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) and five countries, including Australia, New Zealand, Japan, Israel, and South Korea.
  • The group works toward boosting global defence cooperation.
  • Advantages for India by becoming a member of NATO Plus:
    • India would gain access to seamless intelligence sharing between these countries.
    • India would get access to the latest military technology without much of a time lag.
    • It would further strengthen Indias defence partnership with the United States.

What is North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO)?

  • It is a transatlantic alliance of 31 like-minded North American and European countries.
  • It was established by the North Atlantic Treaty (also called the Washington Treaty) on April 4, 1949.
  • Aim: To protect peace and to guarantee the territorial integrity, political independence and security of the member states.
  • Article Five of the treaty: If an armed attack occurs against one of the member states, it should be considered an attack against all members, and other members shall assist the attacked member, with armed forces if necessary.
  • Headquarters: Brussels, Belgium.